Rates updated to August 2026 · AECOM 1 July 2025 base + 6.4% · reviewed 16 October 2026
Building rates per m²
Indicative building-only rates per m² of construction area. Each column says plainly whether VAT is included. Rates are updated to August 2026: AECOM's 1 July 2025 rates plus 6.4% escalation, from the Stats SA index for domestic building costs (see below). They exclude land, site works, professional fees, and council and NHBRC fees. The calculator adds those.
| Type / finish | Gauteng / national excl. VAT | Gauteng / national incl. VAT | Limpopo indicative excl. VAT reviewed default | Limpopo indicative incl. VAT reviewed default | Basis |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| New house | |||||
| Economic | R8 430 | R9 694 | R9 270 | R10 660 | AECOM p.57 + 6.4% |
| Standard | R10 480 | R12 052 | R11 530 | R13 259 | AECOM p.57 + 6.4% |
| Middle-class | R12 590 | R14 478 | R13 850 | R15 927 | AECOM p.57 + 6.4% |
| Luxury | R17 400 | R20 010 | R19 140 | R22 011 | AECOM p.57 + 6.4% |
| Extension / addition | |||||
| Economic | R10 110 | R11 626 | R11 120 | R12 788 | AECOM house rate ×1.20 + 6.4% architect-reviewed |
| Standard | R12 580 | R14 467 | R13 840 | R15 916 | AECOM house rate ×1.20 + 6.4% architect-reviewed |
| Middle-class | R15 110 | R17 376 | R16 620 | R19 113 | AECOM house rate ×1.20 + 6.4% architect-reviewed |
| Luxury | R20 880 | R24 012 | R22 970 | R26 415 | AECOM house rate ×1.20 + 6.4% architect-reviewed |
| Outbuilding (garage, store, flatlet shell) | |||||
| Economic | R7 870 | R9 050 | R8 660 | R9 959 | AECOM outbuilding – standard + 6.4% |
| Standard | R7 870 | R9 050 | R8 660 | R9 959 | AECOM outbuilding – standard + 6.4% |
| Middle-class | R11 070 | R12 730 | R12 180 | R14 007 | AECOM outbuilding – luxury + 6.4% |
| Luxury | R11 070 | R12 730 | R12 180 | R14 007 | AECOM outbuilding – luxury + 6.4% |
About the Limpopo column: an architect-reviewed default. No major cost guide publishes Limpopo rates by finish level. AECOM's rates are “based on data received from Gauteng, where possible”. For now, the Limpopo column is the Gauteng rate × 1.10, i.e. 10% more. The reason is distance: most materials are made in or around Gauteng and trucked roughly 450–500 km by road from Pretoria or Johannesburg to Venda approx., then often moved again on gravel roads. The reviewing architect's own site data shows the effect: stock clay bricks cost R4.95 each in Venda, against about R1.85–R2.45 in Pretoria (see rural Limpopo). Some national guides list Limpopo as cheaper (ooba: R9,600 vs R15,000). That reflects lower local labour rates and smaller, simpler houses, not what the same house costs to build far from suppliers. The 1.10 factor has been reviewed by the architect as a cautious default, and will be refined as local tender data comes in.
How the 6.4% escalation was set. Stats SA's contract price adjustment index for lump-sum domestic buildings (CPAP work group 180, labour, materials and plant) rose from 104.7 in July 2025 to 111.4 in August 2026, i.e. +6.4%. Construction materials alone rose 8.4% over the same period. Tender prices can lag input costs when builders are short of work: AECOM's BER-based forecast was +3.6% for 2026, and market reports say residential tenders aren't fully passing on cost increases. So 6.4% is a sensible budgeting figure, not a guarantee. Stats SA P0151.1 Construction Material Price Indices, August 2026 (released 30 Sep 2026), Table 1, CPAP work group 180 ‘lump sum domestic buildings’: Jul 2025 104.7 → Aug 2026 111.4 (+6.4%); total CIPI Jul 2025 105.2 → Aug 2026 114.0 (+8.4%). Indices exclude VAT · AECOM Cost Guide 2025/26, p.88: BER tender price index forecast +3.6% (Jan 2026) and +4.7% (Jan 2027)
About extensions (×1.20). Extensions are priced at 20% more per m² than a new house. The reviewing architect set this figure from his own projects: tie-ins, demolition, roof junctions, waterproofing and matching existing finishes all add cost. It sits at the top of the 10–20% range in public guides, which reflects what additions actually cost in practice. Very small additions, kitchens, bathrooms and upper storeys can cost more again; one guide puts a second storey at 20–40% more than ground floor. SA Property Tools building cost calculator, updated Oct 2026 (extensions ‘about 15% more’, ‘typically 10–15% more per m²’; contingency 10–15%) · Building Prices South Africa, House extension cost guide, updated June 2026 (‘extensions typically run about 10–20% higher than a fresh build’; second storey 20–40% more)
Other published figures, for comparison
| Source | What it measures | Limpopo | Gauteng | VAT | Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ooba (citing Property Review) | Average building cost per m², standard residential | R9 600 | R15 000 | Not stated | Published as 2026 |
| Stats SA P5041.1 (via BuildingPlans.co.za) | Declared value ÷ m², completed houses < 80 m² | n/a | R7 592 | Not stated (declared values) | Jan–Jun 2026 |
| Stats SA P5041.1 (via BuildingPlans.co.za) | Declared value ÷ m², completed houses ≥ 80 m² | n/a | R10 227 | Not stated | Jan–Jun 2026 |
| Stats SA P5041.1 (via BuildingPlans.co.za) | Declared value ÷ m², additions and alterations | n/a | R10 640 | Not stated | Jan–Jun 2026 |
Declared values on plan submissions are often lower than real building costs. Sources disagree, which is why we show ranges and explain our method.
Sources
- AECOM Africa Property & Construction Cost Guide 2025/26, p.57 (rates current to 1 July 2025, excl. VAT, Gauteng-based where possible)
- Stats SA P0151.1 Construction Material Price Indices, August 2026 (released 30 Sep 2026), Table 1, CPAP work group 180 ‘lump sum domestic buildings’: Jul 2025 104.7 → Aug 2026 111.4 (+6.4%); total CIPI Jul 2025 105.2 → Aug 2026 114.0 (+8.4%). Indices exclude VAT
- AECOM Cost Guide 2025/26, p.88: BER tender price index forecast +3.6% (Jan 2026) and +4.7% (Jan 2027)
- ooba, 'What is the building cost per square meter in SA in 2026?' (citing Property Review; VAT basis not stated)
- Stats SA P5041.1, Jan–Jun 2026, declared value ÷ floor area for Gauteng, as calculated by BuildingPlans.co.za (secondary source)
- SA Property Tools building cost calculator, updated Oct 2026 (extensions ‘about 15% more’, ‘typically 10–15% more per m²’; contingency 10–15%)
- Building Prices South Africa, House extension cost guide, updated June 2026 (‘extensions typically run about 10–20% higher than a fresh build’; second storey 20–40% more)
- SARS: standard VAT rate 15%